How to Delete Messages on Snapchat?
Snapchat is one of the most popular social media applications in the world right now. Be the amazing features it has or the fun that the users can have, there is no denying that Snapchat can put a smile on everyone’s face. Since its release back in 2011, the app has amassed huge popularity among the people across the world and not just the common people but the celebrities have also been mesmerised by the Snapchat. From the funny filters to crazy edits, there is no end to the features that Snapchat offers and what makes this application so endearing is that it updates its features every once in a while. But there is a question that comes in the mind of the every Snapchat user is “How to delete messages on Snapchat” and to be honest the process is really very easy.
How Many Types of Snapchat Messages Are There?
Before proceeding to the steps involved in deleting the messages in Snapchat, you first need to know how many types of messages are there in this popular social media application. There are generally two types of messages that you can delete permanently from your Snapchat account. The first type of messages that you can send to your friends are the snaps. The snaps are basically the photos or the videos that you share with your friends in Snapchat and they can be deleted permanently. The second type of message that can be sent in Snapchat are the text messages that you can receive or send anytime to anyone in the Snapchat. The text messages basically follow the snaps; generally, the users send the text messages to their friends after sharing a snap of them in order to start a conversation or simply as a comment on the snap they have shared. You can also delete the text messages and it is very easy since you will just have to follow some basic steps in order to do it.
Deleting Text Messages in Snapchat
If you really want to delete Snapchat messages, there are few steps involved which you will have to follow. By following the steps listed below you will be able to save yourself from a potential embarrassment in front of everyone. But here one thing, you need to remember that by following the steps below, you will be able to delete the messages from your phone only and it will not erase the messages from the account of others to whom you had sent those messages or had received from. It works this way because every message that is received in Snapchat directly downloads in the phone of the user and it no longer exists on the server of Snapchat.
- At first, you will need to open the Snapchat app on your mobile phone
- You will find a ghost icon on the top centre of your mobile screen
- Tap on the ghost icon and it will show you your Snapchat icon along with the score
- There you will find the settings option at the top left corner of your screen; click on it to get to the settings
- After going to the settings option, you will have to scroll down to get to the “clear all conversation” option
- Here you will see that all your messages are listed along with an X.
- Click on the X and a message will appear “Are you sure you want to clear all conversation?”
- Tap on yes; clear all conversations and rest peacefully as no one will ever get to see those texts ever again from your phone.
Deleting Saved Messages in Snapchat
Several people ask about “how to delete saved messages in Snapchat” and as stated earlier the process is really simple. If you really want to delete all the saved messages from Snapchat then all you need to do is to just follow some basic steps and everything will get deleted. Though deleting saved messages in Snapchat is easy but sometimes few complication arises thus you need to follow the steps listed below clearly to delete all the saved Snapchat messages without getting yourself in any trouble. Do you want to really know the steps involved in deleting the saved Snapchat messages? Well, have a look:
1. Get to the main page of Snapchat:
The main page of the Snapchat is where all the conversations that you have had are showcased and it is the first thing that you will see if you open the application.
2. Go to the settings options:
On the top left corner of the page, you will see a gear icon. Just tap on that gear icon to get to the settings menu in your Snapchat application.
3. Tap on the “Clear Conversations”:
There are several options that you will find in the settings menu but you will have to find the tab which reads “Account Actions”. You will have to tap on this tab and then another set of options will be displayed to you. Find the “Clear Conversation options”, click on it and from there you will be able to delete all the conversations from your Snapchat account permanently.
4. Unlocking the chats that are saved:
In the “clear conversations” option, you will an X right next to every conversation and clicking on that X deletes the messages permanently. Though it is the case for the active messages but for deleting the saved messages, you will have to unlock them first. Just tap on the saved messages to unlock them and then they are ready to be deleted.
5. Delete the saved chats:
Once you have unlocked the saved chats, just click on the X and the messages will disappear permanently.
You can easily delete the messages in Snapchat by following the steps given above. Although the process is not as easy as deleting a text message from your phone, but this popular social media application allows its users to delete the messages if you follow the steps that are listed.